Continuing Requirements

Applicants must comply with all existing Labor, Employment, Immigration and Internal
Revenue laws and regulations.

Be sure that your line producer, producers, and production accounting team understand the
importance of following and reading our Rules & Regulations.

Compliance with the Laws of Alabama: Within 60 days of commencing operations in the
State of Alabama, a Qualified Production Company must register with the Secretary of State
and comply with all requirements of doing business within the State of Alabama. Loan Out
Companies must also register with the Secretary of State.

Filing Alabama Tax Returns: A Qualified Production Company must file any and all tax
returns required by the laws of the State of Alabama.

Final Incentive Audit And The Report: The Qualified Production Company shall hire a
CPA to perform the Final Incentive Audit / Agreed upon procedures of the Qualified
Production Company’s Production Expenditures and the CPA shall prepare a Report
verifying each Production Expenditure.

Payment Of The Rebate: Upon receipt of the CPA Report, the Film Office will review the
Report and determine the amount of the Rebate, if any, to be paid. Within 45 days the Film
Office will notify the Revenue Department of the amount of any Rebate available to the
Qualified Production Company.

The Qualified Production Company shall claim its Rebate by filing its annual Alabama
income tax return for the tax year(s) during which production took place. The Rebate may be
used to offset any Alabama income tax liability for the tax year(s) during which expenditures
were paid or incurred. The excess by which the Rebate exceeds the Qualified Production
Company’s Alabama income tax liability will be refunded by the Revenue Department to the
Qualified Production Company.


http://www.alabamafilm.org/Rules_%20And_Regulations_Submitted_to_LRS%20(2).pdf

